Planet Grok

Where intuition reigns supreme

Indians at the Gym

Posted by PlanetGrok on March 3, 2010

As I’ve noted before, the gym is a great place to observe HBD. Perhaps the most peculiar people group are the Asian Indians. They come into the gym in packs of 10-20 people, and engage in very questionable exercises and humorous (if barely comprehensible) banter.

Older men usually get on the treadmills and walk at very slow paces while watching TV. By “slow”, I mean about 1 mph. Seriously. About half of the younger men will hit the treadmills also, and run at a very frenetic pace. But they look strange running, for their backs are stiff, and their arms sometimes flop around in a rather feminine manner. Sweating profusely, these lanky young men soon fill the gym with the stereotypical aroma of spicy Indian B.O. The smell is very unpleasant, and the ruder members of the gym start whispering loudly amongst themselves about the stench, while others go home and blog about it.

When young Indian men aren’t running from imaginary tigers on the treadmill, they are lifting iron. Small amounts of iron. Very small. Someone has apparently been selling extremely bad workout advice in the Indian community.

Attention all Indian men: curling 5 pound dumbells will not make you strong, no matter how many times you do them. The other day (I shit you not) I witnessed two skinny young men taking turns bench-pressing the Olympic bar. Just the bar, with no weights. And they were spotting each other. Yeah.

I’ve read at Razib’s that Southeast Asians have the highest % body fat of all the people groups. I wonder if this is an adaptation to the vegetarian diets popular down there, and I wonder if that explains their unusually low muscle tone also.

Nevertheless, as I am not a prejudiced man, I frequently push aside these peculiarities to engage the Indians in conversation, and in return I am treated to a fascinating new world of inter-caste conflict and alliances. There is apparently a big civil war brewing between southern Dravidians and northern Indo-Aryans.  They do not like each other one iota. And nobody seems to like the Patels, except for the Patels, who like themselves very much. (Is it a sign that I pay too much attention to Indians when I can now usually identify a Patel by looking at them?) There has been one new Patel who does not travel in the Indian packs and seems comparatively normal – he lifts normal man weights, and I can’t smell him from across the gym.  I tried to chat with him, but he replied to my friendly overtures with a snobby grunt and went about his business. I was really offended at first, but then I realized that the rest of the gym was filled with white proles, and he had mistaken me as one of their associates. He’s since realized his mistake and tried to reach out to me again, but I’ve rebuffed him so far. I don’t like being mistaken for a dumb prole.

One cool thing about Hindu or Sikh Indians is that they are passionately anti-Muslim, and very pro-Western. I wish there were more jobs to support new citizens like them, they are vastly preferable to the immigrants from south of the border. But I do realize that they are deflating wages and often not allowed to truly immigrate, they just get sent packing when their time is up. I say if we are going to bring them here, then at least let them stay and contribute for generations to come. Otherwise, don’t bother bringing them here just to deflate wages for 5 years before sending them back to Bangalore.

41 Responses to “Indians at the Gym”

  1. This may explain the lack of Indian olympians and the situation at your gym: http://jcem.endojournals.org/cgi/content/abstract/94/12/4696

    At the university gym which I never go to because it is always insanely crowded, the Punjabi/Paki dudes are pretty jacked. A lot of them do Roids, apparently it’s a part of the culture. These are rich international students and upper-middle class Indian-Americans, not H1B types.

    Danny Boyle wanted to cast an Indian lead in Slumdog but was disappointed that Bollywood is apparently dominated by males of the lighter-skinned groups who workout 4 hours a day. He went with a lanky British-Indian kid as someone who he felt legitimately “looked” Indian.

    • PlanetGrok said

      Good find – I think that’s the paper Razib referenced. What do you think of my hypothesis that higher fat and insulin levels in this population is an adaptation to vegetarian diets prescribed by Hinduism?

      The northern Paki and Punjabi areas would be less influenced by this, for obvious reasons.

    • The real reason behind this is not physiological, it is cultural. Indians have an irrational love for cricket, which isn’t an Olympic sport.

  2. Vincent Ignatius said

    I wonder if this is an adaptation to the vegetarian diets popular down there, and I wonder if that explains their unusually low muscle tone also.

    How long would it take for an adaptation like that to spread over an entire population? I guess if the population already included some individuals of that phenotype, it could spread pretty fast.

    I laughed reading this post. I’m pretty fond of Indian immigrants, but yeah, they are pitiful in the gym.

    • PlanetGrok said

      In times of hunger in places where the dominant religion bans the eating of meat, I’d think that those who are able to store a lot of fat and burn low amounts of energy from their muscles would have a significant survival advantage.

      I’m fond of Indian immigrants also, if not always the policy that brings them here. I also find fully americanized Indian girls quite attractive. It’s the other kind of dark meat.

  3. Kiwiguy said

    ***One cool thing about Hindu or Sikh Indians is that they are passionately anti-Muslim, and very pro-Western. I wish there were more jobs to support new citizens like them, they are vastly preferable to the immigrants from south of the border.***

    This applies in NZ too, they tend to make excellent immigrants in my experience. They also tend to eschew liberal excuses for failure and do well academically.

  4. One Moniker said

    I’ve come to school you.

    1. India is NOT majority vegetarian, nor do I think it ever was. However, it may be close to 50/50. In the coastal regions most Hindus eat fish. There are SOME Hindu sects that strictly forbid the eating of any animal flesh, but not all adherents to such sects follow that strictly. Many Hindus eat chicken and mutton as well. Most Sikhs are non-veg, though there is at least one Sikh sect that is strictly veg. Jainism is the only religion in India that is strictly pure vegetarian. Hinduism in general forbids the eating of cow flesh, but as far as other animal flesh, that varies from sect to sect, with, like I said above, a few of them being strictly 100% vegetarian. Vegetarianism is very big in the state of Gujurat. Patels are Gujurati. Gandhi was from Gujurat and his family was strict vegetarian, though I think he did eat non-veg as a rebellious young adult.

    2. Indian men in general appear to be more “effeminate” than your typical White or Black Westerner (male OR female, LOL). There may be several reasons for this. Lower testosterone levels may play a part but there are also some big cultural factors. In general I would say that although due to Feminism, the West is more non-patriarchal than India in terms of social set-up, the United States is nonetheless a more “masculine” or “testosterone driven” society than India is.

    In the West, behaviours that are considered “gay”, are normal, socially acceptable behaviours amongst heterosexual males in India.

    I believe that a sexually promiscuous “dating and hook-up” culture, such as the one we have in the US, contributes to a “hyper-masculinzation” of BOTH men and women here. I have reasons for my belief but it’s too long to get into here.

    I believe that the sexually conservative, sexually segregated, arranged marriage culture of India contributes to the “hyper-feminization” of BOTH men and women in India.

    I believe that both cultures are slightly off balance.

    3. I believe that Indian people are “built” for YOGA and their traditional sports, moreso than “hardcore gym workouts”, and that if Desi-American men took to regular and vigrorous YOGA workouts, they would walk away with strong, sculpted bodies on par with the god Shiva. But I’m not holding my breath.

    4. It’s not true that Hindu and Sikh Desi-Americans in general are vehemenantly anti-Muslim. The older generations – yes, moreso. But not the younger generations who were born or raised in the US. Many of them have an intensely left-wing, liberal outlook on life to the point where any little comment is ready to set them off on a tirade that somehow ends up with them self-identifying with the plight of Black African Slave descendents, even though they are wealthy professionals who can trace their lineages back thousands of years, who have never stepped one foot in a ghetto in their entire life.

    This site is a good example of that attitude;

    http://www.sepiamutiny.com/sepia/

    5. PG, what’s YOUR ethnic and cultural background?

    • PlanetGrok said

      One Moniker,

      Thanks for the info.

      “Many of them have an intensely left-wing, liberal outlook on life to the point where any little comment is ready to set them off on a tirade that somehow ends up with them self-identifying with the plight of Black African Slave descendents”

      I’ve met a few Indians like that. But most that I’ve met aren’t.

  5. PG, you have a very keen eye for HBD issues. It’s kinda freaky. How the hell do you tell an Indian is a Patel just by looking at them? I was just in in the gym, and I felt compelled to check out the Indians because of your post.

    Most Indians I meet seem to be of the slightly built and lanky type. I agree, this type of Indian can’t seem to develop any muscle tone whatsoever, they always remain skinny. I don’t know if this is because they do 5lb weight workouts or if it is because they simply cannot put on any muscle mass.

    I’ve met very few Indians who are FAT. Have you met any? There are some short and stout ones, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen a big fat Indian.

    • PlanetGrok said

      Patels just often have this oddly shaped face. It’s very hard to explain, but I think they have a unique orbital socket structure.

      Older Indian women can become extremely fat.

  6. One Moniker said

    “I’ve met very few Indians who are FAT. Have you met any?”

    In India.

  7. Blue Goddess said

    “Older Indian women can become extremely fat.”

    High carbs, low physical activity.

    Desi men go bald quite early on, and get the rotund “dahl belly”, similar to the “beer gut”.

  8. Yeah, my neighbors across the street are Indian, and they are getting old and plump. But it isn’t the HUGE ROUND GROSS FATNESS that you often see in whites and blacks, and sometimes East Asians, if you know what I mean.

    Which reminds me of another observation. My Indian neighbors are both short, 5’3ish, but somehow, one of their sons is a physical specimen for the ages. 6’4, 220, played DI college football. The other son was nowhere near as physically gifted. I’m wondering how that happens. Short parents, tall offspring…hmmm

  9. Blue Goddess said

    Asian of Reason, India has a very large number of citizens who are “chinky”, look very “oriental” with slanted eyes and all. They are the inhabitants of the entire Northeast of India: Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura, etc.

    The current winner of “Indian Idol” is a “chink”.

    I know that’s not PC but that’s what they are called there.

  10. Wow, I never realized India was so diverse. Probably even more diverse than China. Interesting.

  11. Blue Goddess said

    India is even more diverse than Africa.

    It’s got every genotype.

    • PlanetGrok said

      Every “modern” genotype. I think technically Africa is more genetically diverse because you have some pretty archaic lineages there (obviously, since we evolved there) that aren’t found elsewhere, such as the bushmen. But yes, India is very diverse, you have input from negroid types (like the Andaman Islanders), European types, and East Asian types all blended together and evolved into their own distinct lineage. That’s one reason why I find Indians so fascinating.

  12. too late said

    The gym that I go to is in a primarily white suburb of northern Atlanta. I go in there for a quick workout at lunch a couple of times a month and it’s always filled with black males during the day. They’re either playing basketball or lifting weights. I see more coming in while I’m there but not many leaving. They’re still playing basketball when I leave around 1pm.

    I know the media is always blabbing about the high unemployment rate for black males, but if any of these guys are unemployed, they’re not going to find a job hanging out in the gym all day. The fitness staff is also 80% black as well, so I guess some of them did get a job there.

    Reminds me of a liberal white girl I used to work with. She was always mad because she couldn’t track down her unemployed black boyfriend who was using her car during the day. And usually when she did find him, he was playing basketball at the gym. He ended up moving into her condo and she bought him his own car.

    At night, its the opposite at the gym. White people coming in after work.

    • They are probably think they are training to be professional basketball players, no matter how unlikely the possibility may be. This seems to be the excuse of many fairly athletic unemployed NAMs. “I’m training for the NFL/NBA” Or if they are Hispanic, “I’m a semi-pro soccer player trying to make it”. Or maybe they have shady night jobs (like bouncing), and they are lifting weights to help them do their job, lol.

      Have you ever played pick-up ball with them? Pick-up basketball and choosing teams always makes for VERY INTERESTING sociological observations.

      • too late said

        Yeah, I’m sure some of them do have night jobs or make a living dealing. I have played sports with them in the past, but these days I try to limit my close encounters with blacks and even whites who socialize with blacks. Regardless of their individual natures, blacks typically have one degree of separation from dangerous thugs. ATL blacks are especially aggressive and surly. I think its because this is their town and they don’t feel like they have to act white. They let it all hang out here, so I get to see blacks in all their natural glory.

    • PlanetGrok said

      Too late – It’s exactly the same dynamic where I live.

      And the Asian is right, of course. I have a black childhood friend from my old neighborhood whose path has diverged sharply from my own. He is still convinced he can make it to the NBA – even though he is too dumb to pass any college classes, doesn’t even have the “jump gene” and is only a slightly-better than average player, and is several years too old to be drafted.

      The lower the IQ, the deeper the delusions go.

    • Many of those blacks may live off their wives and girlfriends.

      • PlanetGrok said

        Levi, Wives?

        Nah.

        lol

        Too Late,

        Atlanta seemed like a really nice city to me. The black population blended in with the rest of the Southern black population to me, they seemed a little “left behind”.

        But why is this thread even talking about blacks now? We are demonstrating Planet Grok’s Law of HBD Blogs. Can the Law ever be successfully resisted?

        Just kidding, talk about whatever you want.

      • too late said

        I visited ATL 2 times before accepting a job here. I had no idea what I was getting into. A large part of the city, the southern half essentially, is off limits if you are white and value your life. The latest trend in muggings is they walk up and shoot you in the head and take your wallet. Its very common in the transitional neighborhoods now. Fear of crime is all white people living in the city talk about anymore.

        In general the quality of life is seriously lowered by the number of blacks here. Crime, abysmal customer service, afro-centric arts and cultural events and the most ignorant dangerous drivers I’ve experienced anywhere.

        I understand a lot of what I’ve described is found in every city that has a large percentage of blacks and I guess that’s my point. Portland is one of my favorite cities. Its filled with black loving liberals, but that’s because there aren’t many blacks there. If I was a new college grad with my life ahead of me, I would look at city demographics before making any decision to move somewhere. The percentage of blacks will give you the best indicator of quality of life.

      • Dwayne Mayor said

        Too Late,

        Admittedly, I haven’t lived in ATL, but your description radically conflicts with the experiences recounted to me by friends and family who reside there. My own visits to the city have been very amiable and pleasant. I really have trouble reconciling “lowered quality of life” with a city that has the fastest-growing white population and fastest growing number of millionaire households in the nation and is third in number of Fortune 500 companies within its boundaries. I have heard that crime has become a problem of late, partly due to the recession, and partly I suspect, due to the 40% dropout rate out of public schools providing droves of idle youth for gang membership (e.g. 30 Deep).

        However, I’m unwilling to deny the Nergoes credit for a bang-up job in Atlanta, which they have largely controlled since the 70s, the recent crime-wave notwithstanding. And, I am led to understand, your new, fairly brilliant mayor, Mr. Reed, is pretty serious about dealing with the crime issue, particularly by targeting gang activity.

        “The percentage of blacks will give you the best indicator of quality of life.”

        That’s a spurious correlation. A disproportionate amount of Negroes are poor, so naturally a higher percentage of blacks, will typically mean a lower standard of living. That doesn’t work in a city like Atlanta where many blacks are extremely well-educated and higher-income. Using your dubious statistic would lead our naive college grad to choose a retrograde hellhole like Chilton County, Alabama over a world-class city like Atlanta, GA.

      • too late said

        If you enjoy black culture and behavior, you’ll love Atlanta. My quality of life indicator not only works for cities, it works for countries as well. Comparing Atlanta to some miscellaneous county is like comparing apples to watermelons.

        I’ll give Negroes credit for not bringing Atlanta down to the level of Detroit, but the real point is, what Atlanta could have been had it not suffered under black rule. Mayor Reed was barely elected in a race that demonstrated the “diversity” of Atlanta. The newly returning whites you mention, voted as a block for the white candidate and the blacks voted for the black candidate. Black rule does not have a vote of confidence from the whites living in Atlanta. Thanks for all the wonderful stats about Atlanta, next time just include the link to the chamber of commerce.

        Watch what happens to Atlanta when the majority white portion of North Fulton county, secedes and forms their own county, Milton county, a process that is already under way. The whites who fled to the northern suburbs of Fulton have been subsidizing the black lower half of the county, including the city of Atlanta.

        The weather is nice here.

  13. One Moniker said

    Regarding short people having tall kids. It is genetic. Somewhere back in the ancestry of genes there was at least one tall person, so that pattern is going to get repeated somewhere down the gene pool. That’s how it works. You’ll often find a green or blue eyed person in a family of brown eyes, same thing.

  14. One Moniker said

    While we’re on the subject of Black people, let’s just cut to the chase. This comment is on some other quasi-game blog I surfed:

    I understand your post deals with the narrow issue of game. I’ll deal with the wider issue – fucking.

    I am a white guy but I’m friends with the guy who runs Dark Caverns Real Players Club, in Florida. http://www.darkcavernrealplayersclub.com/ The club hosts sex parties all over the state. I occasionally attend their parties, but 80-90% of the single guys at the parties are black, which is the point of the club. A handful of single girls show up, primarily white, and there are a fair number of couples at the parties, usually in excess of the number of guys. These parties aren’t meet and greets – if the party starts at 9, by 9:15, people are fucking all over the place – primarily the black guys fucking the white women from the couples while the husbands and boyfriends wait elsewhere.

    Last Saturday night, I was with a 24 YO chick that wanted to go to a swingers party for the first time. I texted Art Hammer, the leader of the club, to get directions. Art turned us away – he said they had too many couples on the waiting list they weren’t letting in already. He volunteered that I could come myself, since I am a single guy, because there weren’t enough guys to service all the women in the couples.

    Why bother with Game when there are so many women are waiting in line to give you immediate sex that you are turning them away?

    The following smiley face is added by me (OM):
    🙂

  15. […] I noticed several other commenters remark on how ‘arrogant’ Indians in the West behave. PG has noted the narcissism of certain South Asian groups. Even Sasha Baron Cohen has a hilarious […]

  16. namae said

    I don’t think the differences are wholly testosterone driven, the food and the calorie density has to account for it more than T.Many of my friends who had returned from internships in the foreign lands had put on a bit of muscle mass without hitting gym and filled up their loose T-shirts.
    The other factor is the relatively sedentary life-style and the devaluation of sports in schools to turn out an army of academically proficient minds.

    We are catching up.More and more men are hitting the gym, better diets are raising the heights of the newer generations.I am 23, kids about 5 years younger than me suddenly seem to have gained 2 or 3 inches on everyone around them, and I have seen the same with just about all of my friends with a younger brother.As Bollywood packs in more sculpted men and women approve, you’d see more of them.

    As for vegetarianism, it’s generally the Brahmins that don’t eat meat, some of them don’t even use onions or garlic.There are others who have turned voluntary vegetarian for hygiene reason, but that should go down as poultry industry grows and becomes more structured.

  17. […] – “Indians at the Gym“, “The Sweet Revenge of […]

  18. […] my eye with a couple of posts that explain situations I’ve experienced myself.  Smelly Indians at the gym and banging out slutty fuglies – a redundant term, we all […]

  19. Pure Veg said

    “As for vegetarianism, it’s generally the Brahmins that don’t eat meat, some of them don’t even use onions or garlic.There are others who have turned voluntary vegetarian for hygiene reason, but that should go down as poultry industry grows and becomes more structured.”

    That would be unfortunate.

    And it is not only “brahmins” who are veggies in India. There are ALOT of non-brahmins for culture, religious or ethical purposes who are as well.

    In fact, I think “vegetarianism” is becoming more en vogue for the younger “hip” crowd in India now too – with John Abraham being a spokesman for PETA India and all.

    I’d like to see India become the first 100% vegetarian country on the planet. But it probably won’t until it’s IDOL the United States, does so. That would put India in at a close 2nd.

  20. […] Indians at the Gym « Planet Grok… Chilton County, Alabama over a world-class city like Atlanta, GA. … YO chick that wanted to go to a swingers party for the first time. … […]

  21. commie.basher said

    “I’ve read at Razib’s that Southeast Asians have the highest % body fat of all the people groups. I wonder if this is an adaptation to the vegetarian diets popular down there, and I wonder if that explains their unusually low muscle tone also.”

    I think its because of centuries of slavery and famine that your half brothers across the atlantic unleashed up on us indians. do you know babies born during 1945 dutch famine where more fat than usual. Its adaptation.

  22. Wtf said

    “I’ve read at Razib’s that Southeast Asians have the highest % body fat of all the people groups. I wonder if this is an adaptation to the vegetarian diets popular down there, and I wonder if that explains their unusually low muscle tone also.”

    Indians are South Asian, not Southeast Asian…

  23. jasmine said

    ok let me just say that this entire page outrages me. you’re talking about ethnic groups as if theyre not people but some lab rats that you can make observations on and report them. well let me just make some points clear

    1. Indians are not unhealthy, they just cant lift weights like you would see some other people do at the gym. Majority of punjabis are farmers and they have worked their ass off the entire day in the fields and do you have any idea how hard it is? they work almost the entire day and i have done my research and they burn approximately 5000 calories in a day. If you bring a western person to do their job, they would be hurting in their private parts as well.

    2. it shouldnt matter to you on what speed theyre walking or running in the first place! no matter how slow theyre doing it theyre still better off than the people sitting at home. A gym should be a non judgemental place and people like you make that impossible.

    3. Asian diet is fricken healthier than most of western diet. Only difference is, the western part of the world is more educated about what nutrients their body needs.

    4. All people are different, some people are nice and some are mean, dont group them to be the same.

  24. Simply desire to say your article is as amazing. The clearness in your post is just
    great and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your RSS feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please carry on the rewarding work.

  25. Hi there everybody, here every person is sharing these familiarity,
    thus it’s nice to read this website, and I used to pay a quick visit this
    webpage daily.

Leave a Reply

 
