Planet Grok

Where intuition reigns supreme

Institutional Racism Might Exist- But Against Whom?

Posted by PlanetGrok on February 25, 2010

I’m going to succumb to my own law for a brief time. It is often claimed by academics that racism permeates our very existence, with the aggregate affect being that minority performance and IQ’s are lowered through mystical “stereotype threats” and other such nebulous, hard-to-quantify spooky actions at a distance.

I’ll admit I drank the Kool-aide too, for a time. But then I realized something: Whenever I saw a white person acting poorly (cussing, dirty, loud, aggressive etc) I had no problem instantly pegging that person as an incorrigible idiot and a cretin of the lowest order. But when I saw a black person acting the very same way, I would instantly make up excuses for him, like “I’m sure he has had a hard life” or “If only he had been raised better”.

The academics were wrong. I was not internalizing racism toward blacks. I was internalizing affirmative action toward them.

In other words, society had conditioned me to mentally discriminate against my own ethnicity.

Not any longer.

19 Responses to “Institutional Racism Might Exist- But Against Whom?”

  1. Vincent Ignatius said

    It’s pretty clear that racism against whites and asians is institutionalized in the American academy. But neither of these is as destructive and pervasive as discrimination against men.

    • PlanetGrok said

      One could argue that an anti-male and/or feminized attitudes lead to discriminatory affirmative action practices. Women do not prioritize excellence and superiority like men do. They like to meddle and make everyone happy.

    • Jamila said

      Racism against Asians is institionalized? Hogwash.

      They still have the “model minority” myth to live up to and I have never heard anyone claim that Asians are less intelligent or hard-working than whites.

  2. Jamila said

    I was not internalizing racism toward blacks. I was internalizing affirmative action toward them

    You made the comment that I was going to make. You asked the question and then answered it!

    Affirmative action never benefits any minority group anywhere in the world (see “Affirmative Action Around the World” by Thomas Sowell) and very often it is used to reinforce economic disparities disparities ( see “When Affirmative Action Was White: An Untold History of Racial Inequality in Twentieth-Century America by Ira Katznelson). Make no mistake, white people have received their fair share of handouts too for being white.

    • PlanetGrok said

      Affirmative action policies have been, and are at times nowadays, used to benefit whites. Mostly only in college admissions, previously against Jews (before they assimilated into the modern elite) and now against Asians.

      I consider myself against affirmative action for anyone, including whites. I like a meritocratic system.

      But let’s not kid ourselves, loads of public funds are not being wasted trying to close achievement gaps between whites and Asians. The funds are being wasted on near-hopeless groups a standard deviation behind whites and Asians.

  3. One Moniker said

    Are you serious that Asians have to score 100 points higher on SAT in order to be admitted into the same Universities as Whites? Are Desis included in that “Asian”?

    I can’t believe this. Any proof?

  4. One Moniker said

    Saw you calling Obsidian out over on his blog. He’s never able to address points, like the ones you made.

    He deleted my comments as well.

    • PlanetGrok said

      I could call out Obsidian all day.

      He’s an ass, and drunk on his own ego, it seems. All he does is throw out one barely relevant (and probably made up) personal anecdote after another, then follow up with his clincher: “And you were saying?” It’s often entertaining to read his blog, just to watch the crowd of women thoroughly eviscerate him in his own comment threads.

      For example, when I read him and Jamila arguing, it is funny to me because Jamila takes the stereotypically male role, using facts and logic, and Obsidian takes the stereotypically female role, using personal anecdotes, capitalized words, and emotions. Using personal anecdotes is fine and all, but don’t try to pretend you are intellectually pwning someone with them.

      The “attention all ladies” announcement was so unintentionally funny that I was chuckling out loud to myself for a few minutes. His “Brown Sugah” (note the deliberately spelled Ebonics) probably made him put it up. That’s not game, that’s being pussy whupped.

      • Jamila said

        lol, I’m glad I’m not the only one who figured his woman saw what what going on and made him make an annoncement.

        I told him that I felt it was passive-aggressive to make posts supposedly addressing me but refusing to confront me. No surprise he erased it.

  5. One Moniker said

    Brown Sugah does not exist. Men who have women they are happy with don’t spend that much time online posting blogs as loooooooooong as his. And then saying, “she’s sleeping next to me right now as I type” when they get called on it. LOL

    Hey what do you think about this:

    “More intelligent people are significantly more likely to exhibit social values and religious and political preferences that are novel to the human species in evolutionary history. Specifically, liberalism and atheism, and for men (but not women), preference for sexual exclusivity correlate with higher intelligence, a new study finds.”

    http://www.physorg.com/news186236813.html

    Notice how they say ”for men, but NOT for women”, when it comes to the exclusivity thing.

    (So THAT explains why I was happiest when I was juggling 3 boyfriends at once! I’m a genious! hee hee.)

    There’s so much that could be said about that “study”

    • PlanetGrok said

      That makes sense. I might make a post on it.

      Most intelligent men would rather have a main woman to take care of their needs so they can devote their attention to their intellectual endeavors. Contrary to the impression you might get from reading Roissy’s brilliant writing, most really smart men have bigger ambitions than banging HB10s.

  6. One Moniker said

    I know. I’m surrounded by smart guys and women are the last things on their minds.

  7. Hendrik Verwoerd said

    Now institutional racism is most pronounced against white gentiles.

  8. […] as they wish, and then they will get bored with it and move on to conquering new territory. Planet Grok says it rather succinctly: Most intelligent men would rather have a main woman to take care of their needs so they can devote […]

  9. One Moniker said

    “I told him that I felt it was passive-aggressive to make posts supposedly addressing me but refusing to confront me.”

    Jamila, he did the exact same thing to Denise and Lady Raine, before you showed up. He pulled the “race” and “love” card with you though, because you are Black, and Black men love being passive-agressive with Black women that they are secretly jealous of.

  10. which is the best air purifier…

    […]Institutional Racism Might Exist- But Against Whom? « Planet Grok[…]…

  11. jotirajyk said

    Good evening!!!!!
    Thanks for your informative reply. I will read and study about the drug first….female generic…
    Pa!!
    ____________________________
    online uk

Leave a Reply

 
