Planet Grok

Where intuition reigns supreme

Trying out some new themes

Posted by PlanetGrok on February 24, 2010

Please excuse any issues in the meantime.

***************************************************

Ok, any complaints with this one? A lot of folks did not like the white on black text previously.

***************************************************

Picky crowd here. I did like how the last theme had the “recent comments” widget, but it was rather busy as OneSTDV pointed out. I also didn’t like how comments were pushed to the right. Let’s try the simple grey and black. There doesn’t seem to be much to complain about with this one to me, but if there is a problem I’m sure One Moniker will let me know.

6 Responses to “Trying out some new themes”

  1. OneSTDV said

    Yes. It gives me a headache and it’s extremely hard to follow.

    The ideal looking blog is HalfSigma. Get a template similar to that. This is way too busy.

  2. PlanetGrok said

    One Moniker didn’t like it either. I’ll keep looking.

  3. One Moniker said

    Forget black and white. Why not try brown text on beige background, or light green on dark green, or silver or yellow on blue? Or something DIFFERENT than what everyone else has?

    And can you have a “recent comments” feature on the side?

  4. One Moniker said

    I just googled “wordpress templates”. This one’s nice;

    http://wordpress.org/extend/themes/motion

    they have other “homey” feeling ones there too.

    Forget the black and white.

  5. Jamila said

    I don’t know if its just my screen or what, but the text seems very small and the design is forgetable. Enlarge the text and get more contrast in the design.

  6. PlanetGrok said

    I agree, it is forgettable. Unfortunately, the freely hosted wordpress blogs seem to be limited to the 81 standard templates provided, you can’t upload custom ones without your own hosting account. For example, Moniker, the last template before this one that you saw had a “recent comments” widget that this one doesn’t. I wish I could mix and match the various features of several templates I have found.

Leave a Reply

 
