Planet Grok

Where intuition reigns supreme

What’s so special about Game?

Posted by PlanetGrok on February 12, 2010

I don’t consider myself a PUA by any stretch of the imagination, although I find the principles of Game to be true. In fact I wonder what the big deal is with those who choose that lifestyle. It doesn’t seem especially challenging. My response to the Neil Strauss classic “The Game” was “so that was it?” Basically Strauss was a loser who had practically never had sex. Then he started partying, fake-tanning to an orange Guido tint, and dressing well, and subsequently banged a bunch of ecstasy-popping LA party sluts. Doesn’t seem especially noteworthy to me, more like something anyone could do if they continually put themselves in the right place at the right time, were completely shameless, and had at least normal social skills. It was also an odd inclusion that near the end of the book he described how he got gamed by some guitarist in a Courtney Love band.

Maybe I need to read The Mystery Method to  grasp how Game can have such a hold its adherents.  Because so far it is largely common sense to me.

3 Responses to “What’s so special about Game?”

  1. Priya Sen Gupta said

    Totally agree. Just read the GAME, for a second time (read it once a long time ago and FORGOT I had read it – it was THAT un-remarkable, LOL).

    • PlanetGrok said

      Yeah, I had high hopes for it given all the hype, but it really did not put the PUA community in the best light. I was left thinking so THESE guys are what all these Game bloggers want to be like? wow. Project Hollywood sounded like a dysfunctional, dirty dump. And their definition of a “seduction” is just getting a phone number. ooh, big deal.

      The cool aspect of the book was that there is so much money to be made in promising to teach nerds basic social skills! Too bad the impulsive PUA’s seemed to have not invested their money wisely, in the book.

  2. Nice one! If I could write like this I would be well chuffed. The more I read articles of such quality as this (which is rare), the more I think there could be a future for the Net. Keep it up, as it were.

Leave a Reply

 
